Lightning Rodder banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I just purchased a 2001 L and as luck would have it I think she spit a plug last night. I'm wondering what options I have in terms of repairing it. I have not dug into it yet to ID which plug it spit out.

It's going to be a DD so I want it to be reliable. Am I looking at new heads? Heli Coil? I searched the forum but didn't find much...

Looking to minimize costs obviously but I want it done right the first time. I'm a total Mod motor newb :smt100

Thanks

-Rob

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hey guys, I just purchased a 2001 L and as luck would have it I think she spit a plug last night. I'm wondering what options I have in terms of repairing it. I have not dug into it yet to ID which plug it spit out.

It's going to be a DD so I want it to be reliable. Am I looking at new heads? Heli Coil? I searched the forum but didn't find much...

Looking to minimize costs obviously but I want it done right the first time. I'm a total Mod motor newb :smt100

Thanks

-Rob

·
Stiffler's guinea pig
6,768 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Rob, this is what I recommend to everyone.

http://www.locknstitch.com/sparkpluginserts.htm
Awesome! Looks like a great solution.

Will this act as a permanent reliable repair? I bought the truck for a good price knowing it had a heli coil repair already done to a plug. I'm pretty sure it spit out that same plug less than 3000 miles after it was done at a dealership by the previous owner.

I bought an L to enjoy all that power! Don't want to have to ***** foot it around in fear of this happening again :(

Thanks man,

Rob

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Repost here if you wanna get more traffic looking at this and helping you out!

http://www.lightningrodder.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14