Lightning Rodder banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All!

I was wondering if someone could help me.

I think I might know what is going on but I wanted to put out a feeler to see if anyone could figure out what is happening.

Basically, I have a 2001Lightning, it rides horribly. I replaced the shocks (as 1 was completely broken in half), but it bottoms out going over any significant bump. The block is around 1 - 1.5" from the axle (below)

Tire Wheel Automotive tire Automotive lighting Vehicle

There is a 2" drop shackle on it currently. I've been told that by a friend that the leafs look to have been heated something as it is quite low. (I'm new to lightnings and I'm trying to get myself out of this set up. Not sure what is missing or was messed with to begin with.

I appreciate any and all help

·
regular joe
2002 True Blue
1,627 Posts
That is a huge bump stop. That might be your problem. Cant really tell anything else wo pocs of leafs and hangers

·
Registered
1,100 Posts
Reactions: stoffer

·
2.9 Whipple E85R A1 Transmission
12,044 Posts
Like the guys above said…bump stops and the shocks don’t have enough travel.

·
Registered
876 Posts
When lowering you must change the rear shocks and bump stops. Otherwise the ride in back will feel like a pogo stick. The Beltech items work well.

·
Registered
1,155 Posts
Just like everyone else has posted, post a couple more pictures like side view of the truck and front hangers and rear shackle areas. Most people don't even know if front hangers were ever added.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I'm going to take some more pictures tonight and post them here.

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

·
Registered
250 Posts
reading your post and lookin' at your pic it appears you spent a buck or two on those blue n yellow shocks..