Lightning Rodder banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Weekend Welder
304 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hope your ready to Rock DaHouse!!! :smt020

Heres a detailed description for the ultimate subwoffer box for your Lightning. As most of you know,
I was an acoustics engineer for a customs shop in Ocala FL before I joined the Navy. I have built award
winning boxes for all types of classes in the SPL world. I was a competitor in central Florida from 05' to 08'...
I ran a 1992 two door ford explorer with a 22cf slot ported wall with two Atomic APXX 18" woofers pumpin
6500 watts of shit your pants hittin an astounding 152.66DB Killin it....

I'm here to share my acoustical knowledge with you and give you the tools you need to construct a
bitchi'n box for your suprisingly limited space.

USE 5/8 MDF ONLY.... Anything thicker is a waste and extra weight...

Look at the photos below. I use a program called "Solidworks" to draft up my boxes and pretty much
everything... If you also use Solidworks I can send you the file for the build.

By looking at my uploaded photos, Yes, There is an extension in the middle of mine... And my port is firing upward.
Facing the port down gives a WAY cleaner hit and I would actually fire it down if I could do it over, but I wanted the
tiny bit of extra volume! I had to actually trim the console flush to be able to do this and I wanded the extra CF.
The basics of the box are shown in the photos it is up to you to customize your own build and this is how I did mine.
I store the amps under the box in between the "feet" to keep the wires hidden and maintain a clean appearance.
Ohh, I left the back wall of the enclosure out of the drawing so you can see how the inside
looks, so ADD A BACK WALL TO THE BOX!!!

Take in consideration the thickness factor of the material. The port is important, make sure to use wood
glue when constructing this enclosure on all seams. I perfer to use a brad nailer when dealing with MDF.