Lightning Rodder banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My lightning is mostly a garage queen and gets driven normally only to car shows and out on weekends every once in a while. My buddy just bought a GTO and wanted to do some cruising so I met him in town. After driving a little bit we hit the main drag and on the first whip I started to smell something. At a stop light I look back and see smoke coming out from my rear driver brake. I haven't been doing any burnouts at all and wasn't really driving it all that hard. So I guess since I now have the excuse of tearing it apart I am going to put a better brake kit on the truck so I need some help in who has the best brake kit for the buck. Thought about fixing the factory ones but figured I would keep this excuse and use it for now to buy something new. All recommendations are welcome as long as price isn't too rediculous since I am basically a broke college student with tuition coming up really soon. Thanks, Nick

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
looks like it will be better to go with rotors, calipers, pads and maybe lines. Any suggestions on who to talk to for the best deal on the best brakes? I know little aobut brakes and haven't really been looking into replacing them yet since I know the Lightning brake setup is already good. Since I am already paying for the one I might as put my cosmetic build on hold and upgrade brakes and get them all done at the same time. Thanks for the help.

·
NO RAGRETS!!!
12,123 Posts
I love my TCE brake kit. However, they are not cheap by any means.

Check your ebrake cable and the pivot under the rotor and make sure that is not what locked up first. Very common issue on our platform.

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·