1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
8,321 Posts
Yes it was should of done it years ago.

·
El duderino
13,077 Posts
yes, but i wish i got mine all the way dialed in before i had babies...that reeeaaallly delays the timeline

·
one part at a time
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I've been talking with a few guys about kits for sale, but I am a stainless pipe welder and fitter by trade, so I have unlimited access to any size of stainless tubing and material. And I'm fully capable of making just about anything out of metal. The only thing holding me up is if I should get shorty headers and modify them, or just get some header-to-head flanges and make my own, if I did, I'm thinking something like a log setup. 1 7/8-2" primaries, then have them all foward-swept at a 45 degree angle and coped into a 3" log, then have a v-band ferrule at the end. It seems this would save a ton on space, but would the log type manifold flow decently? I can post a hand drawn scetch of what I'm talking about

·
Premium Member
4,924 Posts
I have been researching this alot myself. I've seen big name shops doing log manifolds as you described. I think I'm going to go this route: http://cgfabrication.com/collections/ford-5-4-modular-headers

Granted those are for 4v, but the design of the header may be something you can replicate and Im sure flows better than a log manifold.

·
Panty Dropper
5,911 Posts
Sub'd. I remember George offering a header system that used a crossover from the drivers side to passenger and a log style manifold on the passenger side. Seems pretty simple, although I don't recall if the AC has to be deleted/relocated.

·
one part at a time
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I just wish I didn't spend so much time on the road... Id be on it right now, so far the only header flanges I can find are all mild steel, would like a stainless one

·
one part at a time
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·