Lightning Rodder banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So, I was able to pick up this sweet ride last night on trade... very impressed with the condition and power this thing has... a bit scary to have a truck that pulls this hard! Mods that are known:

engine was rebuilt and has 10k miles on it, truck has 184K
Ported blower
aftermarket pulleys
BBK throttle body
BBK cold air intake
SCT MAF
SCT x4 tuner
aftermarket electric fans
373 gears
full stainless long tube headers (glad he put those on... hear they are not an easy install!)
full exhaust
rebuilt trans with shift kit

now... the truck seems to sputter when you first get into it, smoothes out quickly... smells a little rich at times, make me think the air fuel mix is not right and needs to be tuned again.

I am new to the supercharged space... typically stay with a fox body mustang... but couldn't pass up on this deal. any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
2004 Sonic Blue Truck is # 3348 of 3781 built on 05/03/2004
2,989 Posts
Welcome to the site and congrats!
Check coils and plugs. With that wiper cowl missing the weather strip piece it's possible water has gotten to your coils. Any idea as to who tuned it last and what it was tuned for? Any codes? Have you performed any maintenance?

·
Registered
2004 Sonic Blue Truck is # 3348 of 3781 built on 05/03/2004
2,989 Posts
Also looks like an LFP throttle body and a SCT BA2600 MAF and the CAI elbow is BBK.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Welcome to the site and congrats!
Check coils and plugs. With that wiper cowl missing the weather strip piece it's possible water has gotten to your coils. Any idea as to who tuned it last and what it was tuned for? Any codes? Have you performed any maintenance?
I have not done anything to it yet. just got it last night. I will check into that, what is weird on the sputter... it is only when it shifts down from overdrive or accelerating without shifting it down manually.

·