Lightning Rodder banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! I hope you all are enjoying your day! Let me make this quick, so i bought an 02 lightning a while ago and im still learning about the modifications done to it and overall still learning about the truck. Basically the truck started misfiring out of nowhere so immediately bought motorcraft spark plugs and COPS to do a full change. Long story short i got it back from the shop, drove a couple of miles and it was still misfiring. The wierd thing is that it had NGK tr6s on before i put the motorcrafts in. Could it be misfiring because i put motorcrafts in instead of the previous tr6s?? Keep in mind i just started taking note of all mods done to it. So far the list i see is
-caltracs
-oil seperator
-JLP Cai
-accufab TB
-flowmasters
-and also i think they changed the sc pulley. Probably a 2.70.. definitely not stock tho
-also has a boost/vac gauge.
- and ofcourse the previous ngk tr6 that i swapped for motorcrafts
Basically what i want to know is if motorcraft plugs could make my truck misfire if it had ngk tr6 before.. thank you everyone for your time!

·
local painter
3,196 Posts
Any codes?

·
AntiSocial
21 BMW M550i xDrive, 18 Chevy Equinox LT 2.0T
921 Posts
P0304 is a misfire on cylinder 4.

Reactions: SVTjune

·
Registered
941 Posts
Plugs gapped properly? Somebody correct me if im wrong but tr6s r 1 heat range colder than stock and need to be gapped around .030 i think. Also make for sure the coil packs "snap" on the plug when reinstalling them and make sure they are plugged in good. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
It had one, i forget the code but it was a misfire on cylinder #4. As of now the code is gone due to a reset :/