Lightning Rodder banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just bought a 2001 with 70k on the clock. Doing some light performance mods and I'm just reaching out to make sure I'm not getting myself in trouble. I'm relatively new to supercharged issues. My mods are Bissani catted mid pipe into a flowmaster exhaust, JLT airbox and filter, fluidyne intercooler, maybe TR6 plugs, new fuel filter, cleaning the MAF, oil change, transmission flush with a Predator street valve body, coolant clean and flush, intercooler clean and flush, maybe a Mashimoto radiator and hoses, will I need a tune or will the PCM adjust? No pulleys, just a freshen up of the belts and tensioners. Throttle body?

What am I forgetting? But mostly will it need a tune? I live in the middle of no where so driving it to get it tuned right now is not an option. With what I'm doing will it be ok without a tune?

Not really looking for more HP just reliability and a few more HP.

·
10 second street truck
12,840 Posts
The plugs are wrong if you're stock boost.
Stock plugs.

The lightning has a very robust cooling system. If you want to waste money on a radiator, that's your call.

A throttle body will net you almost nothing on a stock truck.

Unless you're adding boost you don't need a tune.

Flow master exhaust has shown to be restrictive on these. I recommend something else.

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
^^^100% correct!
Do a search for the Modding 101….read it and then go from there.

·
Registered
1,437 Posts
buy a 5.0 coyote motor with tranny with all wiring and computer. It would be cheaper

·
Stiffler's guinea pig
6,768 Posts
Dusten is correct with his comments. Use stock plugs. You don't need a tune, as none of your mods would require a change. Just do the regular maintenance on it and enjoy.

·
Registered
⚡ Subscribe on YouTube ⚡
72 Posts
Pretty much just echoing what others have said, they all pretty much hit the nail on the head, but here's my input anyways.