Lightning Rodder banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Silver Thor! Scream Eaton Scream!
1,058 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I heard I can snap a drive shaft/bottom end if I have slicks on?

I have a k&n, flowmaster, and msd ignition coils...I ran a 13.5, but I want faster!

I'm going to get me lakewoods, and hopefully that will help

but if I get hoosiers or other slicks and put 2 on the rear, will I snap my bottom end?

·
Flyin HI
31,061 Posts
You probably won't, but it's definitely possible with all that torque launching a 5k lb brick.

Wheel hop is your enemy so get a bars and a loop to be on the safe side.

·
I paid my buck-o-five
75,765 Posts
anytime you put sticky tires on, it's advisable to have a DS loop and traction bars...

IF you don't many tracks won't let you run

do a search, drag radials have taken out a few driveshafts and the pics wee posted here

·
Florida>Texas
10,629 Posts
for added insurance I would deff put bars and a loop on..or atleast a loop

·
.030, XR heads, [email protected]
12,831 Posts
ask Wes (WD13) about why we always recommend DS loop n long bars..... 12.00 on prior run... on a 2.7/6 lb combo ... NT05's were skipping off the line at LF7= broke drive shaft n air bags deployed when the ds slammed against the air bag sensor that's in the cab floor!:shocked003:smt021

btw... that happened saturday to his DD:shocked003.... with help from friends, members from nloc/LR; he drove it to work monday n replaced the air bags pretty much for free!:cheers:bigtu

·
Flyin HI
31,061 Posts
No it'll still break just as easy, but a loop will save you from having to replace everything your busted spinning DS can take out.

·
Wile E. Coyote, Super Genius!
11,563 Posts
So with a ds loop, I won't bust my ds?

and I'm getting lakewoods soon....just want better times without having to swap pulleys and engines lol