Lightning Rodder banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a longtime lurker who just got an '03 with about 100k on it. Almost entirely stock, as far as I can tell, though the intake is CL. I already love this thing and don't know why I waited so long to get one.

I'm a bit of a novice and didn't notice when I bought it, but the wideband AFR gauge looks like it's running lean. It usually sits at right around 16.0 at idle and easy cruising, occasionally spikes to 16.9 (which I imagine is the upper bound for the gauge). At WOT I see 12.0 or so, though I haven't pushed it much yet. From what the internet tells me this is very lean and could be an issue so I'm hesitant to really push it.

I tuned it with a diablosport using their 93 octane canned tune, but that doesn't seem to have changed much of anything. Otherwise the truck runs great with no CEL or other issues. There is a very slight clicking noise that I don't think is a problem. Never any overheating, and almost looks like it runs a bit cold on the gauge.

My questions:
1. Is an AFR for idle/cruise at 16.0 and WOT at 12.0 dangerously lean?
2. Is it possible that the wideband sensor/gauge isn't set up right or is otherwise inaccurate? Can I verify that? I'm using the Torque app with a bluetooth OBD2 connector, but it doesn't seem to pick up either the commanded or actual AFR, so I'm not sure that data is even coming through the OBD2 port.
3. If I am running dangerously lean, what can I investigate to fix it? I already checked/cleaned the MAF sensor, since that was quick and easy, but doesn't seem to have made an impact.

Thanks in advance - this community has been an awesome resource.

Tom

·
Tipton Co. Garbage Truck
1,538 Posts
1. on paper 12.0 is about right. in reality with our trucks I think 10.5-11.0 is what most folks shoot for at w.o.t.
2. doubt the gauge is messed up (see #3).
3. canned tunes are garbage. get a sct and a custom tune from a lightning tuner

my .02

·