Lightning Rodder banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Project Dirty Dog
6,747 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How safe is it going to be if I switch to a 6#lower with a ported eaton. I have a guy local who is wanting to trade but not sure on safety as I can't afford a built bottem end right not.

·
Registered
85 Posts
I remember when it was unheard of to run that combo and now it is common. I have ran that combo for over a year. It really is all in the tune as to how safe it is. I personally feel that 6lb ported is safer than 6lb unported because of the lower IAT2's.

-Mark

·
Registered
426 Posts
I agree. I'd rather see a fella spin one with a 6lb and ported than a 6lb and non-ported.

IMO the tuners are just pulling timing and adding fuel.(that's my speculation though. I'm not a tuning expert by any means)
The bottom end is great but on the top end your sacrificing. I say that because with my 4lb and ported eaton I pull 6#/ported trucks on the big end. Time after time same story. They pull me off the line and I pull them the rest of the run. Usually passing them before the traps too.

Rich

·
Premium Member
13,857 Posts
I'm going to be doing some dyno-ing in a week or two with a 
(suppose to be 10lb lower thats really @8-9), and a 2.7 Upper, on a Ported Eaton.
I'm hoping for at least 450 HP, and more hoping I can squeeze a few pony's more....

The way things have been going for me HP wise, I'll prob put down 350  [smilie=eek4.gif]
OR SOMETHING  :LOL

On my stock block
I ran 4lb lower, 2lb upper, Ported Eaton, AND 100 HP of N20  [smilie=fingersx.gif]
(the ported Eaton was on the last year)

·
Registered
85 Posts
Rob_02Lightning said:
(suppose to be 10lb lower thats really @8-9), and a 2.7 Upper, on a Ported Eaton.
I'm hoping for at least 450 HP, and more hoping I can squeeze a few pony's more....