How do I log AEM wideband values NOT in volts in livelink? - Lightning Forum | LightningRodder.com
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Certified Drunk
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
in the garage doing racetrack shit
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 168
Rep Power: 2578063
           
Question How do I log AEM wideband values NOT in volts in livelink?

I've been trying to get JJ some solid logs, but I'm just about at wits end with trying to get this wideband to log in livelink.

I wired the AEM analog outputs to the orange wire on the SCT firewire cable, found the analog input in the list of PIDs, which was analog 8 (which seemed odd to me) and then found the AEM equation in livelink and made some logs...

But, looking at the CSV files, it only comes through as a voltage reading, and I cannot figure out what I've done wrong here. Hit that search feature hard, but didn't find anything definitive. AFRs on the handheld are consistent with the gauge FWIW, just can't figure out how to get real time A/F readings in livelink.

Anybody care to help a guy out?

'02 True Blue SVTL-#2047-Born 2/21/02-Built shortblock w/all manley and ARP stuff, TFS 38cc heads, Bullet TFS specific blower cams, Circle D 2800, Long tubes, 6lb lower, 2.7 upper, 97 Rails, 60lb SD injectors, Raptor fans w/Harley 356 wiring, etc....
'77 Yamaha XS650-Chopped, Bobbed, hardtailed.
PaulF87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 07:34 PM
E85R
 
Certified Drunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Seattle, WA.
Posts: 8,938
Rep Power: 71583184
           
Which AEM wideband are you using, what's the equations ?

The foot say's go, The light say's no!
Certified Drunk is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 08:20 PM Thread Starter
in the garage doing racetrack shit
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 168
Rep Power: 2578063
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Certified Drunk View Post
Which AEM wideband are you using, what's the equations ?
I'm running the 30-4110 gauge.

My equation in livelink is: (v*2)+10

I have that equation dragged over into the analog 8 spot.

'02 True Blue SVTL-#2047-Born 2/21/02-Built shortblock w/all manley and ARP stuff, TFS 38cc heads, Bullet TFS specific blower cams, Circle D 2800, Long tubes, 6lb lower, 2.7 upper, 97 Rails, 60lb SD injectors, Raptor fans w/Harley 356 wiring, etc....
'77 Yamaha XS650-Chopped, Bobbed, hardtailed.
PaulF87 is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 09:06 PM
E85R
 
Certified Drunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Seattle, WA.
Posts: 8,938
Rep Power: 71583184
           
It's right...
Orange wire is 8 and Red is 7, either one will work. Did you ground the cable?
In the data log, what are you seeing for analog value?

The foot say's go, The light say's no!
Certified Drunk is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 10:16 PM Thread Starter
in the garage doing racetrack shit
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 168
Rep Power: 2578063
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Certified Drunk View Post
It's right...
Orange wire is 8 and Red is 7, either one will work. Did you ground the cable?
In the data log, what are you seeing for analog value?
That's what I thought. The cable has a solid ground.

The analog value is declared as volts, and when I look at the CSV file, it only shows voltage readings, mostly in the 2-2.5 range. I dunno if JJ is looking for figures such as 14.7 or what, but I can't get those to come through as readings like that

'02 True Blue SVTL-#2047-Born 2/21/02-Built shortblock w/all manley and ARP stuff, TFS 38cc heads, Bullet TFS specific blower cams, Circle D 2800, Long tubes, 6lb lower, 2.7 upper, 97 Rails, 60lb SD injectors, Raptor fans w/Harley 356 wiring, etc....
'77 Yamaha XS650-Chopped, Bobbed, hardtailed.
PaulF87 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 10:29 PM
E85R
 
Certified Drunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Seattle, WA.
Posts: 8,938
Rep Power: 71583184
           
Mine shows it as volt's , but with the analog equations it changes it to AFR.
Just for thought...Try updating LiveLink. , Your handheld might need updating, but you will need to return the truck to the stock tune.
svt-BansheeMan likes this.

The foot say's go, The light say's no!
Certified Drunk is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 10:43 PM
playing in the dirt
 
flynlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KC
Posts: 1,428
Rep Power: 24388401
           
Mine did that. I removed the ground and it worked.

7 MPG and proud of it. Stay thirsty my friends.


flynlow is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-11-2017, 07:22 AM Thread Starter
in the garage doing racetrack shit
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 168
Rep Power: 2578063
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Certified Drunk View Post
Mine shows it as volt's , but with the analog equations it changes it to AFR.
Just for thought...Try updating LiveLink. , Your handheld might need updating, but you will need to return the truck to the stock tune.
I actually just updated livelink and the handheld last night, right before I posted this because I thought it might've been something like that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flynlow View Post
Mine did that. I removed the ground and it worked.
Interesting, I'll give that a shot. On that note, I have the AEM harness and the SCT firewire cable connected to the same ground, could that be the issue?

'02 True Blue SVTL-#2047-Born 2/21/02-Built shortblock w/all manley and ARP stuff, TFS 38cc heads, Bullet TFS specific blower cams, Circle D 2800, Long tubes, 6lb lower, 2.7 upper, 97 Rails, 60lb SD injectors, Raptor fans w/Harley 356 wiring, etc....
'77 Yamaha XS650-Chopped, Bobbed, hardtailed.
PaulF87 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-11-2017, 07:25 AM Thread Starter
in the garage doing racetrack shit
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 168
Rep Power: 2578063
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Certified Drunk View Post
Mine shows it as volt's , but with the analog equations it changes it to AFR.
Just for thought...Try updating LiveLink. , Your handheld might need updating, but you will need to return the truck to the stock tune.
Also, I should add that I can see real time AFR readings on the handheld just fine and the readings match the gauge itself. Its livelink thats fighting me.

'02 True Blue SVTL-#2047-Born 2/21/02-Built shortblock w/all manley and ARP stuff, TFS 38cc heads, Bullet TFS specific blower cams, Circle D 2800, Long tubes, 6lb lower, 2.7 upper, 97 Rails, 60lb SD injectors, Raptor fans w/Harley 356 wiring, etc....
'77 Yamaha XS650-Chopped, Bobbed, hardtailed.
PaulF87 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-11-2017, 08:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Griffin, Georgia
Posts: 95
Rep Power: 2386110
           
Gentlemen,
This is amazing how ya'll know all this stuff in taking Detroit's product to the next level! You guys, and I mean all of LR, are very intelligent people. Makes me feel like an infant just learning how to crawl. I have sooooo much to learn.

The Exhilaration of Acceleration
Capt.EKB is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-11-2017, 09:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Charleroi PA
Posts: 55
Rep Power: 124396
           
I see that you updated your device are you using the latest livelink gen-II download from SCT???
chucksbp is offline  
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Lightning Forum | LightningRodder.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome